Backcountry Pizza & Taphouse

The first time I went here I ordered the wrong beer–it was way too sweet and I did not like the food. This past visit I got smarter. I decided to try their pizza-I mean they are called Backcountry Pizza and if I wasn’t sure about a beer I got a taster first. The pizza was good, nothing too outstanding, but the beer selection here is like nowhere else. According to their website they have “60+ beers on draft, new rotating taps daily, and more than 200 bottles” at their restaurant. In fact there are so many it can be completely overwhelming. I narrowed the choices down with a simple algorithm. Beers that were $6 or less, had a high ABV (at least 5% but usually higher than that), were a beer I had not tried before, and were for the most part beers I thought I would enjoy depending on their description and location. Listed below are the four that I had while there. I was most pleasantly surprised by The Soft Parade which is a fruity rye ale. I thought it might be too sweet and it definitely was sweeter than most beers but the after taste had enough of an offset bitter taste that it was thoroughly enjoyable. This is definitely a beer where you want to try a taster before committing to it completely. Unless of course you trust me. 😉 

http://backcountrypizzaandtaphouse.com/index.php

Stone Arrogant Bastard Ale

The Soft Parade

Insane Rush IPA

Telluride Brewery Face Down Brown

For the most up to date tappings and draft listings visit their Facebook page.

**Side Note** Check out the phone app called Beer Hunt. It is similar to the phone app Untapped but in my opinion has much better graphics. This app was created in 2013 so it is still relatively new and does not have every beer catalogued. Yet, it is a great way to keep track of what beers you try and where they are from. Plus if you have friends who also use the app you can compete for points. Check it out and join the hunt! ©

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

