Cannonball Creek & GCB

Today I am playing catchup and posting a bunch of reviews that I have been meaning to do. This post is dedicated to two breweries in Golden, CO. For those of you unfamiliar, Golden is about 35 minutes south of Boulder, CO and is the home of the Coors factory. But I am not here to talk about Coors, this post is about two local microbreweries. First let’s discuss Cannonball Creek Brewing Company. This brewery was founded a little over a year ago in January 2013, but I only went there for the first time a couple of weeks ago. Of course after experiencing it once I went back again almost immediately. My Golden friends have been talking about this place nonstop since it opened and now I get the hype. The beers are delicious. They carry the best red beer I have ever had. It is hard to try others when I know how good this one will be every time. They constantly rotate their seasonal beers though, so you can count on something new to try depending on when you drop in. Today on Facebook they just posted that their Rosemary Sourdough Saison is back on tap. They do not serve food at Cannonball but instead are frequented by different food trucks. Do I feel a visit to Golden happening in the near future? I don’t even think that’s a question.

Mesa views, adorable dogs, fire pits, patio seating, unique craft brews. These words describe Golden City Brewery. Although no one calls it that. Three perfect letters G C B sum up this tiny brewery in the heart of Golden. On a beautiful day this is the place to be. My favorite brew from here is Molly’s Brown Ale. This beer is a darker brew but has a nice light malty quality to it. Be warned though, they are only open until 6:30pm so you want to get there midday. They serve pretzels and pretzel brats and allow any other food that you bring with into the beer garden as well. Damn, now I’m definitely getting down to Golden. Who knows maybe I’ll see one of you guys there. Cheers! Links to their website & Facebook page. ©

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

